At the recent Congress of the Philipine Communist Party, a U.S. – born Communist journalist William Pomeroy and his wife Celia Mariano-Pomeroy were elected as honorary members of the Political Bureau.

The Partido Komunista ng Pilipinas (PKP-1930, the Philippine CommunistParty) held its 13th National Congress on November 7, 2008, at the mainhall of the Club Royale Resort in Malolos City, the capital of BulacanProvince, just outside Metropolitan Manila. The occasion also markedthe Party’s celebration of the 78th Anniversary of its publicproclamation in 1930, and of the 91st Anniversary of the Great OctoberSocialist Revolution.

The Congress reviewed the Report of the 12th Central Committee on the5-year activity of the Party since the 12th Congress held on August 26,2003, and approved the Political Resolution on the International andNational Situations, as well as the Party’s Program for an Independentand Democratic Philippines. The Congress also approved slightamendments to the Party Constitution, which remains based on the PartyConstitution approved by the 10th Congress held on November 7, 1993.

The Congress was attended by 420 delegates representing all nationalParty departments, as well as all the territorial Party committees fromNorthern Luzon to Southwestern Mindanao. A special guest was CubanAmbassador Jorge Rey Jimenez, who relayed the greetings from theCommunist Party of Cuba. A message of greetings from the CommunistParty USA was also read. The Congress was also warmly welcomed bygovernment officials of Malolos City and of the nearby municipality ofBustos.

The Congress elected the members and alternate members of the 13th Central Committee. The 25 regular members of the 13th Central Committee in turn elected the 11 regular and 2 alternate members of the Political Bureau. The regular members of the Political Bureau elected the Secretariat, and Comrade Pedro P. Baguisa was re-elected General Secretary.

The Congress also elected 9 Party veterans as honorary members of the 13th Central Committee. The 13th Central Committee then elected 5 of these Party veterans as honorary members of the Political Bureau.